Here is the workflow that allows Athennian users to delete share transactions and share certificates while maintaining the integrity of the data. 

Occasionally you may make a mistake or a share transaction will not go through entirely however you have entered the pending share transaction into the database. When this occurs you will need to take necessary steps to unwind the share transaction in your Athennian database. 

Example 1 - Deleting a Share Issuance and Related Share Certificate

John Doe has been issued 100 common shares represented by share certificate C-1. You are advised that this information is no longer accurate and will need to delete John Doe as a shareholder along with his related share certificate.

  • Navigate to Securities Tab and select Shares field.
  • Select the shareholder issuance you are deleting in the Transactions screen.
  • A delete field will show up on the right side of the selected shareholder, select delete.
  • A screen will show up "Delete Transaction" warning that the relevant share certificate to that issuance will become invalidated from this deletion and that you must also fix the share certificate tab.  Select Delete tab on this screen.

The share issuance for John Doe will no longer be reflected in the Transactions screen.

  • Move to the Certificates tab, select the share certificate that is to be deleted and click the delete tab on the right of the selected share certificate.
  • Last step, the Registers/Ledgers tab at the top right of the screen will have a warning symbol beside it.  
  • Click on the warning symbol beside the Registers/Ledgers.  Click on the Validate tab on the top right of the Data Integrity Issue screen and then close the screen.  

The share issuance and related share certificate are now deleted from the database.

Related Video on Example 1

Example 2 - Deleting a Share Transfer and Related Share Certificate

John Doe holds 100 common shares represented by share certificate C-1.  John Doe transfers 50 common shares to Jane Doe.  After the transfer has been inputted, Jane Doe is automatically issued share certificate C-2 and John Doe is issued share certificate C-3 reflecting his remaining balance of 50 common shares. You are advised that this transfer no longer occurred and John Doe still holds 100 common shares. You will need to delete the transfer and ensure that John Doe holds 100 common shares represented by the originally issued share certificate C-1.

  • Navigate to Securities Tab and select Shares field.
  • Move to the right side of the screen to Audit View and click the button to turn Audit View on.

  • This will allow you to view all shareholder steps to be deleted.  Delete the transfer and related balance share information.
  • Move to the Certificates tab, select the share certificates that are to be deleted and click the delete tab on the right of the selected share certificates.
  • The initial share certificate issued to John Doe - C-1 will still appear as cancelled.  Select the share certificate and you will see a symbol of a hammer appear on the right side of the field.
  • Click on the hammer symbol.  You will receive a notification "Reset Certificate" that will require you to click on the Confirm tab to reflect the share changes that occurred. 

Once you have selected Confirm, select the share certificate field and you will receive this screen:

  • To change the status of share certificate C-1 from Cancelled to Confirmed select Issue on the left side of this screen and click on the Issue tab on the right side of the screen.

This will ensure that John Doe is now reflected as the sole shareholder with C-1 as his confirmed share certificate representing the initial 100 common shares prior to the share transfer.

  • Last step, the Registers/Ledgers tab at the top right of the screen will have a warning symbol beside it.  
  • Click on the warning symbol beside the Registers/Ledgers.  Click on the Validate tab on the top right of the Data Integrity Issue screen and then close the screen.  

The share transfer and related share certificates are now deleted from the database. The steps taken to delete the share transfer can also be used to delete other share transactions such as redemptions/exchanges etc.

Related Video on Example 2

Did this answer your question?