Distinguish between an entity's legal standing and its management status within Athennian by understanding the available File Statuses.
Overview
In Athennian, there are two types of statuses: Entity Status and File Status.
Entity Status refers to the legal status of an entity, such as Active, Amalgamated/Merged, Discontinued, Dissolved, or Inactive and is recorded in the General > Details tab of an entity.
File Status, on the other hand, describes the status of that entity's record within Athennian and is available from a dropdown in the top-right corner below the record name. This article defines each File Status.
Availability: All customers.
Learn the Difference between Each File Status
There are eight different File Statuses an entity can have in Athennian: Pending, Confirmed, Outgoing, Let Lapse, Closed, Not Managed, Template and Delete.
Pending
This status is used when entities are still in review or not yet formed.
Once entities are up-to-date or formed, the status should be switched to Confirmed.
For billing purposes, Pending entities are counted as active entities.
Confirmed
This status is used when entities are up-to-date and active in Athennian.
For billing purposes, Confirmed entities are counted as active entities.
Outgoing
This status is used when entities are in the process of becoming inactive in Athennian.
For billing purposes, Outgoing entities are not counted as active entities.
Let Lapse
This status is used when letting an entity be dissolved for failure to file annual returns or by the registry.
For billing purposes, Let Lapse entities are not counted as active entities.
Closed
This status is used when entities are no longer active in Athennian.
If an entity has been legally dissolved, it is recommended to change the entity's File Status to Closed, or create and complete a task of type Dissolve, which will also set the File Status to Closed.
For billing purposes, Closed entities are not counted as active entities.
When an entity is set to Closed, Structure Charts cannot be generated for that entity, and some information is hidden from certain views: on the Overview page, Contacts, Principals (directors/officers), and the Home Jurisdiction field under Registrations are hidden, and under General > Compliance the Responsible Professionals field is hidden.
Note: The information that is hidden when an entity is Closed is not deleted; it remains stored on the entity and can still be accessed from other relevant tabs.
Not Managed
This status is used for entities that are not managed by the customer and are only in the database for documentation purposes.
For billing purposes, Not Managed entities are not counted as active entities.
If an entity is set to Not Managed, the entity profile will have fewer tabs than entities with other statuses (only Overview, Details, Addresses, Audit Trail, Structure Charts, Relationships > Affiliations / Associations).
Note: No data for an entity will be lost if an entity is switched between Not Managed and any other status.
Template
The Template status is used to designate an entity as a template in order to duplicate it.
For billing purposes, Template entities are not counted as active entities.
This entity status is restricted to the Administrator role only.
Delete
The Delete status should only be selected when an entity needs to be deleted entirely from the database in Athennian.
This option is restricted to the Administrator role only.